NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CALIFORNIA - JULY 16: A general view of the atmosphere during the 71st Emmy Awards Nominations Announcement at Saban Media Center on July 16, 2019 in North Hollywood, California. (Photo by Tommaso Boddi/WireImage)

An Emmy Award, also known as the Emmy, is an American award that recognizes excellence in the television industry. It is presented at numerous annual events held throughout the calendar year, each honoring one of the various sectors of the television industry. The two ceremonies that receive the most media coverage are the Primetime Emmy Awards and the Daytime Emmy Awards, which recognize outstanding work in American primetime and daytime entertainment programming, respectively.

This year, the 72nd Emmy Awards made history by becoming the first broadcast to forego the traditional red carpet, artists are nominated to appear virtually for safety sake during the coronavirus pandemic

Here are the shows and actors who won at the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards

Schitt’s Creek” broke a record with seven Primetime awards and nine Emmys in total in the comedy categories, and “Succession” took home five awards, including best drama series.

Catherine O’Hara won her first acting Emmy for her role as Moira Rose on “Schitt’s Creek

Zendaya made history by becoming the youngest winner for best lead actress in a drama for her role in “Euphoria.”

See the full list below

Best Comedy

“ Schitt’s Creek” (Pop)

Best Drama

“Succession” (HBO)

Best Limited Series

“Watchmen” (HBO)

Best Actress, Comedy

Catherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”

Best Actor, Comedy

Eugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

Best Actress, Drama

Zendaya, “Euphoria”

Best Actor, Drama

Jeremy Strong, “Succession”

Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie

Regina King, “Watchmen”

Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie

Mark Ruffalo, “I Know This Much Is True ”

Supporting Actress, Comedy

Annie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek ”

Supporting Actor, Comedy

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

Supporting Actress, Drama

Julia Garner, “Ozark”

Supporting Actor, Drama

Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show”

Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a Movie
Uzo Aduba, “Mrs. America”

Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie

Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, “Watchmen
Television Movie

“Bad Education” (HBO)

*Variety Sketch Series

“Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

Variety Talk Series

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO )

Reality-Competition Program

“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)

*Unstructured Reality Program

“Cheer” (Netflix)

*Guest Actress, Comedy

Maya Rudolph, “Saturday Night Live”

*Guest Actor, Comedy

Eddie Murphy, “Saturday Night Live”
Guest Actress, Drama

Cherry Jones, “Succession”

*Guest Actor, Drama

Ron Cephas Jones, “This Is Us”

*Documentary or Nonfiction Series

*“The Last Dance” (ESPN)**
Documentary or Nonfiction Special*

“ The Apollo” (HBO)

*Animated Program

“ Rick and Morty” (Adult Swim)

Writing for a Comedy Series

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek” (“Happy Ending” )

Writing for a Drama Series

Jesse Armstrong, “Succession” (“This Is Not for Tears”)
Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special

Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson, “Watchmen” (“This Extraordinary Being”)

Directing for a Comedy Series

**Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek” (“Happy Ending”)
Directing for a Drama Series

**Andrij Parekh, “Succession” (“Hunting”)
Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special

Maria Schrader, “Unorthodox”

*Directing for a Variety Series

Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live” (“Host: Eddie Murphy”)


Medianaija Copyright © All rights reserved
Enable Notifications OK No thanks