Premier League To Restart On June 17

The wait for the Premier restart is over, the Premier League is set to return on 17 June after clubs agreed on a return to action following the coronavirus shutdown.

The league is set to restart with Aston Villa vs Sheffield United and Manchester City vs Arsenal, these four teams are teams that have games in hand – before a full round of fixtures will be played on the weekend of 19-21 June.

An agreement was reached for the Premier League to return to action for the first time since play was suspended due to coronavirus on 17 March. The remaining 92 fixtures of the 2019/20 season will be played behind closed doors as measures for social distancing.

17 June will mark 100 days since the last Premier League fixture, Leicester City’s 4-0 win against Aston Villa at the King Power Stadium, and gives players only three weeks to get back to match fitness after they were permitted to return to group training this week.

Premier League players and staff will continue to be tested twice a week, with the capacity increased from 50 to 60 tests per club for the fourth round of testing. So far 12 people have tested positive for coronavirus after 2,752 tests across the league.

First Premier League fixtures:
Aston Villa vs Sheffield United, 17 June
Manchester City vs Arsenal, 17 June
Full round of matches, 19-21 June


Medianaija Copyright © All rights reserved
Enable Notifications OK No thanks